Falling Down Beer Company

Welcome back, folks! Apologies for the long hiatus, as the holidays seem to grip us into seemingly never-ending torrents of family, food, and social obligations. At the dawn of this year’s Vortex, we bring you a review from an event a couple months ago, at Warren’s Falling Down Brewery.

I was speaking to my talkative and overeager friend Sala about food, as usual, when she stated bugging me about burgers. She prodded me about Redcoat Tavern (yeah, we’ll get there eventually, we know) and some as yet unvisited places in Pontiac (though I’m not sure I can handle the long drive and sadness). Though she did make a good point – It had been a while since we got together for burgers. With her constant goading, I really had no choice but to invite her to the upcoming event. You’re welcome, Sala. She brought along her boyfriend and general good dude, Dave (who continues to give me shit about the Miller’s beatdown) as well as our friend Bonnie, who had previously suggested that we travel to Cutter’s (good recommendation!)

IMAG0706

Although there were a ton of places on the list to go, a recent visit to some local breweries had inspired me. Amongst them, and closest, was Falling Down. I had picked Falling Down Brewery for a few reasons-

1) Their beer is great. Their Ninja Chicken Pale Ale is quality, and Suburban Home IPA is one of my favorites. Not only is it named after one of my favorite Descendents songs, but the bright citrus flavors are well balanced by pale malts. Even if the food was terrible, I’d have some fantastic beers to forget the experience with.

2) The employees and brewers are awesome – I had a chance to speak with them about their beers previously during beer festivals and at the taproom, and they were as happy as ever to talk about what they were doing.

3) Fellow beer nerds kept talking about the food – specifically the Reuben Egg Rolls and Burgers.

4) So close to Hamtramck! How could I resist?

IMAG0704

The deal was sealed, and the date was set. We drove up to Warren and met at the restaurant. If Falling Down feels like it used to be a diner, you’re right. It used to be My Mother’s Place, a mediocre diner with an intentionally annoying name, until Falling Down bought it and opened their doors in the spring of 2013. This transition from diner to brewery and taproom might seem like a strange one, and it definitely is. The identity crisis of the space is one of the first indications of the quirky nature of their beers, food, owners and patrons. These characteristics end up being mostly to the brewery’s benefit – There is an immediate realization that things here might be a bit different upon entering. This feeling doesn’t really fade, and although I enjoy the surroundings, the problem comes when you continue to realize it after your third beer. When I felt the pangs of guilt of sitting in a Big Boy with a buzz on instead of the relaxation that comes from my favorite dive bars, I realized that my feelings of unease may be shared by others.

IMAG0714
Some dreamcatchers, some board games, some Bonnie, and a cool fall night.

This feeling is comforted by a few factors – the service I’ve received has always been excellent. Rory served us, and was as welcoming and friendly as ever. He explained patiently and happily about the beers, the menu, and the specials (Analog Amber Ale Pints for $3!) He was replaced by another girl (to my embarrassment, I don’t remember her name), who took over gracefully and was equally as helpful. Though the population of the bar was described as a very “Warren Crowd” by the girls from Southfield, everyone was very relaxed, and families felt at ease alongside younger couples, the bachelorette party that came in, and lone drinkers.

IMAG0708
Happy hour, flights, cheap pints, trivia? What else could you ask for?

Our ordering and decision process was harrowing and intense, as meals always are with Sala, and we ended up ordering a couple appetizers in addition to our burgers.  While we waited, we sampled the beer selection. The Green Tea IPA I ordered wasn’t really hitting the spot for me, though it definitely tasted as advertised- it was good and distinctly tea-like, but not something that I wanted a full pint of. Dave ordered the smoked pepper beer at some point, which he described as “quite meaty, almost like a salty bacon.” Despite the couple of flavored beers on the menu, their regular offerings were excellent, and the analog amber price was right on. Since they operate on such a small scale, their beer menu is constantly rotating. If there is a beer you like there, I’d recommend calling and asking if it is on tap, as the site is not always up to date.

IMAG0713
a bachelorette party drinks next a family. Is this normal in Warren?

Out came the reuben egg rolls and fried pork belly bites. The presentation was perfect, though they were ultimately pretty small portions. The pork bites came with a side of maple mustard glaze, which paired well but was ultimately not very interesting. The pork itself was great. We all enjoyed the Reuben Egg Rolls, but Bonnie wasn’t sure they compared to the ones from the restaurant she refers to as “Asians”, an east side staple.

The menu contains a pretty short list of items, including the aforementioned appetizers, in addition to soups, salads, a kids menu, and the burgers. They do have a black bean burger on their menu, and although none of us tried it, i’d wager that it is made well. Now keep in mind that this food isn’t going to be cheap – you’re going to pay about 10-15 dollars for an entree. The burgers ranged from $9.25-$12.00, which I immediately had doubts about. It generally isn’t necessary to pay that much for a good burger (remember the low prices at Cutter’s?). However, I went forward with an open mind. Several of us got the pub burgers, and Bonnie and Sala ordered some fried chicken sliders from the specials menu in addition to a burger.

IMAG0721

After another drink, our massive burgers came out. At least 6 inches high, these mounds of bun, meat and and toppings astonished us with their size. After a bit of smushing, they were worked into manageable bites. They were great- cooked perfectly, with a solid bun that held all the juices in without any issues. The toppings were fresh, the bacon was crispy with a bit of chew (just how I like it) and everything was appropriately portioned. This is a solid burger, folks. If you’re seeking out a good burger for cheap, this isn’t it, but the price you pay will get you something excellent. If you’ve been following our past posts, you’ll find that the score on this burger itself actually beat all the others- by a significant margin.

IMAG0730
The burger – complete with a bit of greasy-finger lens flare.

The chips served on the side were crispy, well-seasoned, and exactly what i’d like with my burger if I’m not getting fries. The fried chicken sliders got a warm response, but not compared to the quality of the burgers or appetizers.  Then we come to the pickles. The pickles themselves were delicious (not to mention being produced on the border of Hamtramck by McClure’s), but along with them came some kind of sense of entitlement. We didn’t ask for these pickles, they were on the side, served as an extra to the actual meals that we ordered. It seems like a pretty nice thing to do, right? Apparently not. Sala and Bonnie didn’t even know their pickles existed until after they finished their burgers, and this enraged them. ‘What is the point of serving a pickle this small?’ they inquired with audible exasperation.  I shrugged, and ate my pickle. It was great.

IMAG0720

As I write this review, I realize the folly in the fact that I haven’t been back to drink a pint, get a growler fill, or have a bite to eat. This place is a bit of a gem. Though the price for food is more than I can normally spend, and the atmosphere is a little weird, the heart and soul of Falling Down is alive and well. The menu seems solid, well-researched, and tweaked to perfection.  They make all the weird quirks work and thrive in their slightly odd environment. Don’t ask Falling Down to be anything other than what they are. Locals love the place for good reason, and a base of regulars keeps the tables filled. Though their negatives took away from the total score, I hope that Falling Down continues to be successful for years to come.

IMAG0735
Sala’s Fortress of Bill-Paying Solitude.

Ratings:

Burger: 4.20
Service: 3.9
Atmosphere: 3.2
Value: 3.7
Overall Rating: 3.814

Erik: “Will definitely come back for beer, but food would be a special occasion. The price prevents me from making it a legitimate option.” 4.5/5

Carl: “The Gangsta Snarl” : “My baby stomach impeded my capacity for providing a proper review. DO NOT move the tables.” 3.7/5

Sala: “Would be more into it if I was a big beer fan. Not sure I will return soon, but I would recommend it. The location is out of my stomping grounds and I have an Indian restaurant nearby that I would visit first. I can only eat so much.” 3/5

D Conz: “Not a fan of the pork bites. However, the egg rolls were tasty. Loved the pretzel bun, pleasantly surprised by burger and fries, easily the highlight of the night. Definitely resembles a Wendy’s both with the outside brick and the inside layout. Next time maybe i’ll skip the “smoked pepper” beer.” 4/5

Bonnie: “First time eating a medium rare burger. I didn’t find my pickle until the end of the meal…it was hiding.” 4/5

IMAG0734

Falling Down Beer Co.
2270 East 10 Mile Road, Warren, MI 48091
(586) 799-2739
www.fallingdownbeer.com

(photos by Erik. We need a real photographer.)

Falling Down Beer Company Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a comment